Backpack Packing Age 17+


  

 Use Reservation Code
Please enter your reservation code below.


Event Description:

The Backpack Program provides a backpack full of nutritious, ready to eat or easy to prepare foods that is sent home on weekends and holidays when school meals are not available.  

 

Volunteers help us pack the backpacks here in our Charlotte Warehouse location that will then get distributed to the students through the school systems.

 

The Backpack food is purchased, not donated for many reasons.  Therefore, backpack packing is done on a schedule around the arrival of our food orders, the flow of the number of backpacks being sent out and our staff schedule.   Our space is limited and a successful packing event needs at least 10 volunteers, but no more than 15.  Once the backpack shift is full, we cannot accommodate additional volunteers due to space restrictions.

 

No Court Ordered, Suggested by Lawyer or Pre-Trial Community Service is permitted 

 

Important Reminders - Please Read: 

  • Please remember to wear closed-toe shoes - no flip flops or sandals are permitted in our warehouse. No injury type of foot boot is permitted.  
  • Attire - Please wear comfortable clothing. No controversial wear. Shorts of a respectful length is permitted.  NO crop tops or undergarments showing. 
  • No food, drink (including coffee) snacks or gum is permitted in the warehouse.  We will provide bottled water to volunteers
  • Please be courteous to others and arrive on time as we give project instructions at the beginning of the shift to the entire group - if you arrive late, you may be put into a different group and not with your friends/co-workers. 
  • Weekday shifts all volunteers must be at least 17 years of age.  Age 13-16 can volunteer on Thursday evening 6-8 PM or on Saturdays. 
  • No Court Ordered or Pre-Trial Volunteers are permitted.  

If you or your company are interested in having a backpack packing event at your location, please email the volunteer coordinator as there is a cost to cover the food, transportation of the food, backpacks and the additional staff needed to be at your location.   


Select an Available Slot Below
Date/Time &
Details
Volunteers
Needed
Tue, Jun 15, 2021 - 12:55 PM to 3:30 PM   
Waitlist
Sign Up
Wed, Jun 16, 2021 - 8:55 AM to 12:00 PM   
2
Sign Up
Wed, Jun 16, 2021 - 12:30 PM to 3:30 PM   
Closed
Thu, Jun 17, 2021 - 12:55 PM to 4:00 PM   
Waitlist
Sign Up
Mon, Jun 21, 2021 - 12:55 PM to 4:00 PM   
Closed
Tue, Jun 22, 2021 - 8:55 AM to 12:00 PM   
Closed
Wed, Jun 23, 2021 - 8:55 AM to 12:00 PM   
Closed
Wed, Jun 23, 2021 - 12:30 PM to 3:30 PM   
Closed
Thu, Jun 24, 2021 - 12:55 PM to 4:00 PM   
Closed
Tue, Jul 6, 2021 - 8:55 AM to 12:00 PM   
4
Sign Up
Wed, Jul 7, 2021 - 8:55 AM to 12:00 PM   
6
Sign Up
Wed, Jul 7, 2021 - 12:30 PM to 3:30 PM   
Closed
Thu, Jul 8, 2021 - 12:55 PM to 4:00 PM   
Waitlist
Sign Up
Mon, Jul 12, 2021 - 12:55 PM to 4:00 PM   
3
Sign Up
Tue, Jul 13, 2021 - 8:55 AM to 12:00 PM   
7
Sign Up
Wed, Jul 14, 2021 - 8:55 AM to 12:00 PM   
6
Sign Up
Wed, Jul 14, 2021 - 12:30 PM to 3:30 PM   
Closed
Thu, Jul 15, 2021 - 12:55 PM to 4:00 PM   
2
Sign Up
Mon, Jul 19, 2021 - 12:55 PM to 4:00 PM   
4
Sign Up
Tue, Jul 20, 2021 - 12:55 PM to 3:30 PM   
Waitlist
Sign Up
Wed, Jul 21, 2021 - 8:55 AM to 12:00 PM   
6
Sign Up
Wed, Jul 21, 2021 - 12:30 PM to 3:30 PM   
Closed
Thu, Jul 22, 2021 - 12:55 PM to 4:00 PM   
4
Sign Up
Mon, Jul 26, 2021 - 12:55 PM to 4:00 PM   
4
Sign Up
Tue, Jul 27, 2021 - 12:55 PM to 3:30 PM   
6
Sign Up
Wed, Jul 28, 2021 - 8:55 AM to 12:00 PM   
8
Sign Up
Wed, Jul 28, 2021 - 12:30 PM to 3:30 PM   
Closed
Thu, Jul 29, 2021 - 12:55 PM to 4:00 PM   
Waitlist
Sign Up
Mon, Aug 2, 2021 - 12:55 PM to 4:00 PM   
7
Sign Up
Tue, Aug 3, 2021 - 12:55 PM to 3:30 PM   
8
Sign Up
Wed, Aug 4, 2021 - 8:55 AM to 12:00 PM   
8
Sign Up
Wed, Aug 4, 2021 - 12:30 PM to 3:30 PM   
Closed
Thu, Aug 5, 2021 - 12:55 PM to 4:00 PM   
6
Sign Up
Mon, Aug 9, 2021 - 12:55 PM to 4:00 PM   
9
Sign Up
Tue, Aug 10, 2021 - 12:55 PM to 3:30 PM   
7
Sign Up
Wed, Aug 11, 2021 - 8:55 AM to 12:00 PM   
8
Sign Up
Wed, Aug 11, 2021 - 12:30 PM to 3:30 PM   
Closed
Thu, Aug 12, 2021 - 12:55 PM to 4:00 PM   
Waitlist
Sign Up
Mon, Aug 16, 2021 - 12:55 PM to 4:00 PM   
9
Sign Up
Tue, Aug 17, 2021 - 12:55 PM to 3:30 PM   
7
Sign Up
Wed, Aug 18, 2021 - 8:55 AM to 12:00 PM   
9
Sign Up
Wed, Aug 18, 2021 - 12:30 PM to 3:30 PM   
Closed
Thu, Aug 19, 2021 - 12:55 PM to 4:00 PM   
7
Sign Up
Wed, Aug 25, 2021 - 12:30 PM to 3:30 PM   
Closed
Wed, Sep 1, 2021 - 12:30 PM to 3:30 PM   
Closed
Wed, Sep 8, 2021 - 12:30 PM to 3:30 PM   
Closed
Wed, Sep 15, 2021 - 12:30 PM to 3:30 PM   
Closed
Tue, Sep 21, 2021 - 12:55 PM to 3:30 PM   
7
Sign Up
Wed, Sep 22, 2021 - 12:30 PM to 3:30 PM   
Closed
Wed, Sep 29, 2021 - 12:30 PM to 3:30 PM   
Closed
 
Event Meeting Location: Second Harvest Food Bank of Metrolina

500-B Spratt Street, Charlotte NC 28206

View Location Map

Event Organizer: Nancy Hagerman
nhagerman@secondharvest.org
Event Category:
Backpack Packing Event - Age 17 and Up