Columbia Greenmarket


  

Event Description:

Volunteer at the year-round Columbia Greenmarket this winter! Help the market manager with cooking demonstrations, community engagement, and providing support for farmers. This is a great opportunity for an outgoing, enthusiastic volunteer looking to learn more about local agriculture and seasonal eating.

 

Click here for more information on the market.

Open year-round on Thursdays and Sundays, this market located just in front of the Columbia University gates on Broadway at 115th St.,  serves a diverse population including university students, faculty and staff, St Luke’'s Hospital staff, visitors and patients as well as Upper West Side residents. While several of the farmers attend on both Thursday and Sunday, each day has its own distinct character. Thursday’s market thrives on the bustle of the work and school day schedule, while Sundays are more laid back and neighbors come out to do serious shopping.  Shoppers will find milk and yogurt, fruit, cider, baked goods, preserved fruits and vegetables, eggs, cheese, smoked meats, pickled vegetables, maple syrup, honey, fish, and focaccia topped with locally sourced fruit, vegetables, herbs and cheeses, a lunch time favorite.

 

Volunteers must have attended a Greenmarket orientation and be at least 18 years of age or older.


Select an Available Slot Below
Date/Time &
Details
Volunteers
Needed
Thu, Dec 12, 2019 - 11:00 AM to 2:00 PM   
Waitlist
Sign Up
Sun, Dec 15, 2019 - 11:00 AM to 2:00 PM   
1
Sign Up
Thu, Dec 19, 2019 - 11:00 AM to 2:00 PM   
Waitlist
Sign Up
Sun, Dec 22, 2019 - 11:00 AM to 2:00 PM   
1
Sign Up
Sun, Dec 29, 2019 - 11:00 AM to 2:00 PM   
1
Sign Up
Thu, Jan 2, 2020 - 11:00 AM to 2:00 PM   
1
Sign Up
Sun, Jan 5, 2020 - 11:00 AM to 2:00 PM   
1
Sign Up
Thu, Jan 9, 2020 - 11:00 AM to 2:00 PM   
1
Sign Up
Sun, Jan 12, 2020 - 11:00 AM to 2:00 PM   
1
Sign Up
Thu, Jan 16, 2020 - 11:00 AM to 2:00 PM   
1
Sign Up
Sun, Jan 19, 2020 - 11:00 AM to 2:00 PM   
1
Sign Up
Thu, Jan 23, 2020 - 11:00 AM to 2:00 PM   
1
Sign Up
Sun, Jan 26, 2020 - 11:00 AM to 2:00 PM   
1
Sign Up
Thu, Jan 30, 2020 - 11:00 AM to 2:00 PM   
1
Sign Up
Sun, Feb 2, 2020 - 11:00 AM to 2:00 PM   
1
Sign Up
Thu, Feb 6, 2020 - 11:00 AM to 2:00 PM   
1
Sign Up
Sun, Feb 9, 2020 - 11:00 AM to 2:00 PM   
1
Sign Up
Thu, Feb 13, 2020 - 11:00 AM to 2:00 PM   
1
Sign Up
Sun, Feb 16, 2020 - 11:00 AM to 2:00 PM   
1
Sign Up
Thu, Feb 20, 2020 - 11:00 AM to 2:00 PM   
1
Sign Up
Sun, Feb 23, 2020 - 11:00 AM to 2:00 PM   
1
Sign Up
Thu, Feb 27, 2020 - 11:00 AM to 2:00 PM   
1
Sign Up
 
Event Meeting Location: Columbia University, Market Information Tent, Broadway between 114th and 116th Street, Manhattan

Columbia University
116th St & Broadway, New York, NY 10027

View Location Map

Event Organizer: Rishma Lucknauth
rlucknauth@grownyc.org
Event Category:
3) Greenmarket / Columbia